Hoop Rushmore

Image

Earlier this week on Sportcenter in an interview with former Atlanta Hawks guard Steve Smith asked  “Queen” LeBron James to list  his basketball Mt.Rushmore. Lebron listed Micheal Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird and Oscar Robertson. I thought listing Robertson was disturbing considering he didnt have the career that guys like Kobe Bryant, Wilt Chamberlain, or Kareem-Abdul Jabbar. However that is his opinion. What I found more disturbing than him listing Oscar Robertson was that he went on to say that he belonged up there and would finish Top 4 in history.  When I heard that I Immediately threw up in my mouth. Sometimes I’m amazed at how forgetful the sports world is. Does LeBron not remember having the overall best record (60 plus wins), being favorites to win the NBA championship, and winning the league MVP in consecutive years only to fail to make the finals, losing to a Orlando Magic team whose only Superstar was Dwight Howard? Does he not remember all the late game let downs where he didn’t just let down he shut down, passing last second shot opportunities to the likes of Donyell Marshall, Delonte West and  Udonis Haslem? Still on Mt. Rushmore? Does he not remember holding the press conference for the “decision” on national tv letting the Cleveland  Cavaliers (whom he promised he wouldn’t leave until they won an NBA Championship) know he wouldn’t be returning via TV? Does he not remember averaging 17ppg in the finals against the Dallas Mavericks and being held to 8pts in one of the most crucial games of that series. Dirk Nowitzki, Jason Kid, Jason Terry, and Deshawn Stevenson vs. Lebron James, Dwayne Wade, Chis Bosh ? Does he not remember saying “not 4,not 5,not 6? I think what LeBron James did was a cop, it was a shortcut, and it was a move a scared man makes. Earlier this weak in my class my professor used the acronym “F.E.A.R, face everything and run, or face everything and rise” I think its clear what Mr. James aka the Lying King did. Now that that’s off my chest, here is my basketball Mt. Rushmore: Micheal Jordan, Kobe Bryant, Bill Russell and Magic Johnson. I gotta go to class.

Leave a Reply

